Geographic Areas

The United States are divided into 10 Geographic Areas to allow for cost effective and timely mobilization of wildland firefighting resources to incidents nationwide. Each Geographic Area has multiple local dispatch centers that fall under their sphere of influence. The primary mission for each Geographic Area is to coordinate the movement of resources within the Geographic Area and export resource to other Geographic Areas as needed.

Interactive Map of the United States with Geographic Areas and Coordination Centers Alaska Interagency Coordination Center (Fort Wainwright, AK) Eastern Area Coordination Center (Milwaukee, WI) Great Basin Coordination Center (Salt Lake City, UT) Northern California Geographic Area Coordination Center (Redding, CA) - Including Hawaii Northern Rockies Coordination Center (Missoula, MT) Northwest Interagency Coordination Center (Portland, OR) Rocky Mountain Area Coordination Center (Lakewood, CO) Southern Area Coordination Center (Atlanta, GA) - Including Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands Southern California Geographic Area Coordination Center (Riverside, CA) Southwest Coordination Center (Albuquerque, NM)